International Prize for Water 2020


Due date : 31 December, 2019

Presentation of the donor

The Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water (PSIPW) is a scientific prize with a focus on innovation. Established in 2002 by HRH Crown Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz, it rewards the efforts made by scientists, inventors and research organizations around the world which contribute to the sustainable availability of potable water and the alleviation of the escalating global problem of water scarcity.

To this end, PSIPW awards a suite of five biennial prizes, covering the entire water research landscape. In this way, PSIPW encourages research to find solutions to the various water-related challenges facing the world today.

Summary of opportunity

Creativity Prize

Worth US$ 266,000, the Creativity Prize is awarded for cutting-edge interdisciplinary scientific work that can rightly be considered a breakthrough in any water-related field. The work might be a body of research, an invention, or a new patented technology. It is by nomination only. Universities, university departments, research institutes, companies, and agencies can nominate scientists, researchers and inventors for this Prize.

Specialized Prizes

Each of the four specialized prizes is worth US$ 133,000. Researchers, research teams, and organizations nominate themselves for these prizes:

  • Surface Water Prize : Covering every aspect of the study and development of surface water resources.
  • Groundwater Prize : Covering every aspect of the study and development of groundwater resources.
  • Alternative Water Resources Prize : Covering desalination, waste water treatment, and other nontraditional sources of water.
  • Water Management & Protection Prize : Covering the use, management, and protection of water resources.

Eligibility criteria

  1. In the event that a team of individuals are being nominated, all team members must be named at the time of application and one member must be specified as their representative. Groups of people working on the same project may not be nominated separately. They must be nominated as a group with a single nomination form.
  2. A university, institution, or government agency is not eligible to be nominated for the Creativity Prize. The nominee must be an individual or group of individuals. Organizations can nominate themselves for one of the four Specialized Prizes.
  3. Nominations for the Creativity Prize must be made by a university, institution, or government agency on behalf of individuals or teams of researchers. Individuals may not nominate themselves or others for the Creativity Prize. Nominations for the Specialized Prizes are by direct self-nomination.
  4. The work or works being considered for the nomination must have been completed no more than five (5) years prior to the nomination deadline for the current Prize.
  5. Published research papers, published books, and registered patents may be submitted for consideration. Unpublished works and unregistered patents are ineligible for the Prize.
  6. No more than five (5) distinct works may be submitted. Multiple works should not be collected together and submitted as a single work.
  7. Works will be reviewed and judged in English. If the work being nominated was originally published in a language other than English, it must be submitted in the original language accompanied by a full translation or by a translation of the parts of the work that are to be considered for the Prize. If a partial English translation is provided for a work submitted in another language, then only that portion of the work which is translated will be considered for assessment.
  8. A nominee can only be nominated for one of the five Prizes during the same award.
  9. The work being nominated must not have previously been a recipient of any other international prize.  (However, it may have been the recipient of local or regional prizes.)